new years!

so in a few days we will be celebrating the end of one year and the beginning of a new one. technically there is no difference from 11:59:59pm on dec 31 to 12:00:01am jan 01. however, there is that ‘magical’ interval of time; a second, a brief interlude, before the new year arrives. remember dec 31 1999? the entire world was on edge. would computers continue to work? power grids? databases? satellite communications? would gremlins pop out of trees and eat puppies and kittens? i remember being with my two daughters in cupertino california. i was feeling a bit anxious. i wanted my daughters next to me, “just in case.” of course nothing happened. relieved but at the same time, disappointed. after-all i had prepared emergency kits, a plan in the event of a global meltdown. sad…

so a new year is almost upon us. 2017. what magical events will transpire at the tick of the clock as we move into a new year…? i can tell you with strong certainty that absolutely nothing will happen. 99.9999% sure. but, just in case, i have my emergency kit next to me…! give me your best shot, 2017!

i really need a life…

see you around…